News That Matters

Tag: officers

14 SSPs among top officers transferred

Punjabi Politics
Jupinderjit Singh Tribune News Service Chandigarh, July 11 In the second major reshuffle in the Police Department following the spate in drug-related deaths and angry Congress ministers asking the CM to act tough, the government on Wednesday shifted 30 IPS and PPS officials, including 14 SSPs. Earlier last week, nearly 130 DSPs were shifted. However, the SSPs of Tarn Taran and Amritsar, which saw most deaths and allegations of a nexus between police and drug smugglers have not been changed. Faridkot SSP Nanak Singh has been shifted to Bathinda. The Faridkot police was accused of not handling NDPS cases properly. Gurpreet Singh Bhullar, who recently headed an operation to nab gangster Dilpreet Singh, is posted as AIG Counter-Intelligence. Those posted as SSPs are: Swapan Sharma (Ropar), Nan...

Punjab government transfers 18 IPS, 12 PPS officers

Punjabi Politics
Tribune News Service Chandigarh, July 11  The Punjab Government on Wednesday issued Transfer/ Posting orders of 18 IPS and 12 PPS officers with immediate effect. an official spokesperson said that out of 18 IPS officers, Jaskaran Singh has been posted as IGP PAP, Gurpreet Singh Bhullar becomes AIG CI, Punjab, Surjit Singh goes as AIG Crime Punjab, S. Boopathi will be the new AIG Vigilance Bureau, Punjab, Sukhminder Singh Mann has been posted as AIG/SSOC, Amritsar, Additional charge of AIG CI Amritsar (in addition to his own duties).  Naveen Singla goes as AIG SB-1, Swapan Sharma becomes SSP Ropar, Patil Ketan Baliram has been posted as Commandant 5th IRB, Amritsar, Gaurav Garg is the new AIG SPU, Dr. Nanak Singh is now SSP, Bathinda, Deepak Hilori goes as SSP SBS Nagar, Sandeep G...

Ex-IPS officer’s son gets 10-yr jail for diamond robbery

Punjabi Politics
Bijendra Ahlawat Tribune News Service Faridabad, July 6 Mohit Sharma, son of Shiv Kumar Sharma — a retired IPS officer of the Punjab cadre — and four other persons were sentenced to a 10-year jail term on Friday in connection with a diamond robbery that took place in 2008. The sentence was pronounced by the court of Deepak Gupta, District and Sessions Judge. Mohit and five others had been held guilty by the court on July 2. Besides Mohit, Ashok Kumar, Suresh Kumar, Mohammed Meharban and Bhupinder Singh were awarded 10-year sentence, while Harbans Lal was given a seven-year jail term. The case had been transferred here from Punjab in 2013 to ensure that the trial was not influenced by Mohit’s family. The court also imposed a penalty of Rs 40,000 each on Mohit, Ashok, Sures...