News That Matters

14 SSPs among top officers transferred

Jupinderjit Singh

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, July 11

In the second major reshuffle in the Police Department following the spate in drug-related deaths and angry Congress ministers asking the CM to act tough, the government on Wednesday shifted 30 IPS and PPS officials, including 14 SSPs. Earlier last week, nearly 130 DSPs were shifted.

However, the SSPs of Tarn Taran and Amritsar, which saw most deaths and allegations of a nexus between police and drug smugglers have not been changed.

Faridkot SSP Nanak Singh has been shifted to Bathinda. The Faridkot police was accused of not handling NDPS cases properly. Gurpreet Singh Bhullar, who recently headed an operation to nab gangster Dilpreet Singh, is posted as AIG Counter-Intelligence.

Those posted as SSPs are: Swapan Sharma (Ropar), Nanak Singh (Bathinda), Deepak Hilori (Nawanshahar), Sandeep Garg (Sangrur), Dhruv Dahiya (Khanna), Gulneet Singh Khurana (Fazilka), Swarandeep Singh (Batala), Satinder Singh (Kapurthala), Varinder Singh Brar (Ludhiana Rural), Navjot Singh (Jalandhar Rural), Mandeep Singh Sidhu (Patiala), Manjit Singh Dhesi (Muktsar), Mandhir Singh (Mansa), Raj Bachan Singh Sandhu (Faridkot).

Others transfers include: Jaskaran Singh, IG, PAP; Surjit Singh, AIG, Crime; Sukhminder Singh, AIG, SSOC, additional charge AIG/OCCU and CI Amritsar; Naveen Singla, AIG Special Branch; Patil Ketan Baliram, Commandant, IRB, Amritsar; Akhil Chaudhary, Commandant 36th Battalion; Gaurav Toora, ADCP, Headquarters, Amritsar; Opinderjit Singh Ghuman, Commandant 27th Battalion; PS Parmar, Commandant 9th Battalion; and Sandeep Kumar Sharma, AIG Personnel, 3 CPO.

The Tribune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *